The Writer’s passion

When McKayla Maroney landed on her backside during the vault that was supposed to win her a gold medal in women’s gymnastics competition at this year’s Olympics in London, I sympathized. I’m a writer. I understand the ache of failure, especially when it is unexpected.

Writers deal with failure. We submit our work only to face rejection. Or worse. We pour our hearts into a story only to see it refuse to polish to the sheen we need. We compare and complain.

Am I passionate enough to be a writer? Can I fall on my backside and get up to cheer on another writer who sold her novel? Can I push through when others pull back?

My failures don’t define me. Tomorrow is another opportunity.

Leave a Reply

